Louisiana Health Care Commission Meeting Minutes Poydras Building Hearing Room Baton Rouge, Louisiana August 11, 2022

Members present: Lauren Bailey, Ruby Brewer, Katie Brittain, Derrell Cohoon, Dr.

Alecia Cyprian, Diane Davidson, Jeff Drozda, Susan Ellender, Arnold Goldberg, Dr. Faye Grimsley, Representative John Illg, Dr. Eva Lamendola, Ronnell Nolan, Frank Opelka, John Overton and

Dr. Patrice Sentino

<u>Members absent:</u> Jeff Albright, Josh Alford, Dr. Rachel Durel, Jack Duvernay, Dr.

William Ferguson, Dr. John Fraiche, Lisa Gardner, Randal Johnson, Jesse Lambert, Darrell Langlois, Jennifer McMahon, Senator Robert Mills, Barbara Morvant, Andrew Muhl, Ed Parker, Debra Rushing, Dr. James "Butch" Sonnier, Elizabeth Sumrall, Judy Wagner, Scott Webre, Dr. Frances Wiggins and LaCosta Wix

Staff present: Crystal M. Stutes

Crystal M. Stutes called the meeting to order at 9:10am. Roll call was taken and a quorum was noted for the record.

Crystal M. Stutes asked for a motion to approve the April 22, 2022, minutes. Mr. Arnold Goldberg offered the motion and Dr. Alecia Cyprian seconded the motion. With no objections, the minutes were approved.

Under new business, Crystal Stutes introduced our newest member, Dr. Patrice Sentino. Dr. Sentino will represent the League of Women Voters of Louisiana.

Next Mr. Frank Opelka of the Louisiana Department of Insurance provided updates on the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 and LDI sponsored Health Insurance Bills from the 2022 Regular Legislative Session.

Vicki Dufrene of the Louisiana Department of Insurance provided a discussion on Recent Telephone and Television Solicitation with Medicare Advantage Plans and Recent CMS Guidance.

Following this discussion, commission members engaged in an open discussion.

Next Crystal Stutes provided an update from the department regarding the creation of the Office of Policy, Innovation, and Research.

Katie Brittain again reviewed the topics of study that were presented at the last meeting and began the coordination of subcommittees with commission members.

With no further business Mr. Arnold Goldberg moved to adjourn the meeting, Ms. Ellender seconded the motion. With no objection, the meeting was adjourned at 11:20am.